Breaking News

How To Read Deleted Whatsapp Messages

Unfortunate that the WhatsApp feature which users dearly anticipated, after release, is so unreliable. A month ago, popular IM WhatsApp rolled out the 'delete for everyone' feature, which enabled users to recall or unsend a message (with typos or if sent to the wrong contact) within seven minutes of sending it.

Once a user tap delete for everyone, the message gets deleted both from the sender's and recipient's end. But according to a Spanish blog, the WhatsApp deleted messages are actually still on the device, and can easily be accessed through Settings by the recipient.

So, regardless if the message has been deleted from the sender's end, it can easily be accessed and read. This can be further explained thus:
"Whenever a notification comes in to an Android devices, it is stored in the notification log – whether or not it is subsequently deleted by the sender. While the bulk of the data in the log is technical information, the first 100 characters of the notification message is also recorded."

So while users may not be able to see the message within WhatsApp after it is deleted, they can still see it in the notification log – which can be accessed in two ways.

How to Access Deleted WhatsApp Messages

First Method

This trick currently works only on
Android 7.0. Firstly, users can create a home screen Settings widget:

1. Press and hold home screen
2. Press widgets icon
3. Scroll down to Settings
4. Drag and drop onto home screen
5. Click on widget
6. Scroll down and click on the notification log
7. Click on the message you want to see

Second Method

1. Download notification history from appstore
2. Search the message in the Android notification log.

The first 100 characters of the message will appear in the line starting with 'android.text.' You will only be able to view the first 100 characters of deleted messages, and the notification log will clear every few hours, or any time the device is restarted. 

One reason a lot of people use WhatsApp over text message is because of the end-to-end encryption, which is more secured. But this new flaw has raised a serious security issue. 

No comments